Minutes of the Special Board of Trustees Meeting, June 19, 2020

1. Call to order

The Trails Regional Library Board met via GoToMeeting. The meeting was lived screened for the public on YouTube. President, Scotty Walker, called the meeting to order at 9:09p.m.

2. Roll Call

Board members attending via GoToMeeting: Allycen Burton, Fern Deatherage, Carlin Dillon, Jeany McGowen, Ron McMullin, Amanda Travis and Scotty Walker. Attending via telephone: Judy Tyler and Judy Wolter. On duty staff attending via GoToMeeting: Tanya Shelton-Council, Director, Anita Love and Luke Ciccone who provided technical support for the live screening. Public attending: There were 4 members of the public in attendance via the live screening YouTube channel.

3. Public Comments

Board President, Mr. Walker commented that he had heard from a patron who tried to make a comment at the regular meeting two nights ago but was never responded to. It seemed the streaming was not working. Mr. Walker then asked if there were any public comments. Library Director, Ms Shelton-Council responded that she was not seeing any public comments on the live stream. She went on to say that on Monday she would look at the streaming from the last meeting and if there were comments she will see to it that they are responded to.

4. Unfinished Business

a. Discussion and vote for the open Johnson County Board seat. Mr. Walker announced that there are four applications for the one Johnson County seat. The applicants are Susan Kohl, Michelle Amos, Dorothy Arvizu and Georgia Jarman. Ron McMullin moved to nominate Georgia Jarman for the position. Scotty Walker seconded the motion.

Ms Deatherage asked why the choice was Ms Jarman over the other applicants. Mr. McMullin responded that he liked her over the others. Ms Deatherage went on to comment that the other applicants look like they have good qualities. She mentioned Ms Arvizu has a doctorate and experience working in libraries. Ms Travis added that she too liked Dr. Arvizu because of the library experience and her experience with adult literacy. Mr. Walker pointed out that Ms Jarman is on the Holden School Board, she is an educator, thoughtful, has no agenda, a member of the Holden Friends group, and whose personality would fit well with existing board members. Ms Travis commented that she didn't dislike Ms Jarman but Dr. Arvizu would come to the board with a different perspective. She has experience working in libraries. Mr. Walker commented that he liked Ms Jarman because she would be more likely a better fit. Mr. McMullin said that he agreed. Ms Wolter spoke up and agreed with Mr. Walker's assessment. Ms Tyler commented that Ms Jarman is familiar with the sunshine law which is good. Mr. Walker called for the vote. A roll call vote was taken, Allycen Burton Nay, Fern Deatherage – Nay, Carlin Dillon – Aye, Jeany McGowen – Nay, Ron McMullin – Aye, Amanda Travis – Nay, Judy Tyler – Aye, Judy Wolter – Aye, Scotty Walker – Aye. The motion passes with 5 Ayes and 4 Nays. Mr. Walker will write the letter to go to the Johnson County Commissioners recommending Georgia Jarmen to the board for a four year term.

5. Discussion and Announcements

Ms Shelton-Council reported that the title to the 2004 box trailer that Trails Regional Library is selling is stored in the safe deposit box located at the UMB bank in Warrensburg. Mr. Walker is the only person left in the area that is on the list of people who can have access to the box. Ms Shelton-Council asked if Mr. Walker would call the bank and make an appointment to go in and retrieve the contents of the safe deposit box. The administrative office does have a fire-proof safe and those materials can be housed there. Mr. Walker said he would be glad to meet Ms Shelton-Council at the bank. Ms Shelton-Council commented that the Board may want to consider dropping the safe deposit box since the library has a safe.

6. Adjournment

President, Scotty Walker, adjourned the meeting at 9:24p.m. The next meeting will be at 7:00p.m. on July 15, 2020 at the Warrensburg Branch.

Board Officer

July 15, 2020 Date of approval